Advancing Quality Care


The mission of IAOS includes “… promoting the interests of the profession of orthopaedic surgery in the State of Illinois and the patients thereof through education, representation and advocacy … to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of orthopaedic care and musculoskeletal health and related access to care, patient management and service reimbursement issues.”


  • Advocacy for Orthopedic Surgeons and Quality MSK Care
  • Education on Key National & Local Topics
  • Member Benefits that Provide Value and Enjoyment to Orthopedic Surgeons
  • Research on Important Community & Market Issues
  • Socialization to Promote Comradery, Fellowship & Professionalism
  • Thought Leadership for Our Profession



  • Steve Mardjetko, MD – President 
  • Doug Evans, MD – President Elect
  • John Cherf, MD, MPH, MBA Past President


  • Charles Bush-Joseph, MD (BOC Member)
  • John Cherf, MD, MPH, MBA (BOC Member)
  • Doug Evans, MD (BOC Member)
  • Sherwin Ho, MD
  • Anish Kadakia, MD
  • Steven Mardjetko, MD
  • Preston Wolin, MD
  • David Alfieri, MD
  • Jeffrey Goldstein, MD
  • Alfonso Mejia, MD (Ex-officio Member)

Executive Director of IAOS : Leah Wolfe

Past Executive Director of IAOS: Margaret Coyle

IAOS is a IRC 501(c)(6) organization. EIN: 36-4343451